Promise Ring.

July 31, 2010 erinthepoet9

So yesterday, after a long time of praying about getting a promise ring the word came up in a conversation. My friend has been wanting one but was afraid to ask her mom so she brought the conversation about promise rings to my mom. I was like yes this should be a perfect time to see if my mom would let me get one. I have wanted one for the past couple of most to signify that I was pure and I wasn’t planning on changing that until marriage.

So I am proud to say that on Thursday June 29 2010 I got a promise ring. (:

My friend, Kendra and I were talking about going to the Christian store in Jonesville together just to look at them. And around four we went with her grandma to Heavenly Treasures and they had them. They only had one kind of ring but I was fine with the way it was. It wasn’t too big and it wasn’t too little it was just right. I really like what the ring says on it. It kind of explains what it is so I don’t have to come up with words to tell other people.

The ring says.

Today, I promise I will wait agreeing to stay pure.

Because I know that God loves me and his blessing is in store.

The ring is round and kind of curved in a way it looks bent but its meant to be like that. The ring also came with a book mark that has a pledge type thing that says the same thing as the ring, and you sign it and put the date on the back and on the front it reads:

Because I know

There are some things

That happen only once

And value my own purity;

I’m choosing abstinence.

My body is God’s

Temple and I want

To keep it pure.

A precious gift I’m giving to

The one I’m waiting for.

So I will be reminded

Every time I wear

This token.

A three-strand chord

Entwined in love

Is never quickly broken

Because I trust

That Jesus has

A special love for me.

I’m choose to love

And honor him

By waiting patiently.

I think that really represents the ring very well. And I don’t care what other people think about the ring I’m proud to wear it no matter what.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Entry Filed under: Boys,Christian,Friends,Love,Me/Life,Teen

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

July 2010
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts